A Promise to Myself

All I’ve ever wanted is to be someone special; someone who could help those around her and leave a mark on this world and the people in it. I thought I could do so using my words and compassion. But I find it hard to believe I can be anything like that now.

I’ve seen so many use their words better than I can. I’ve seen compassion and kindness in so many, and in much larger quantities than I could ever muster up. These things don’t always make me feel special because I know there are others out there who are so much better at it than I am.

But that doesn’t mean I’ll stop being this way. It’s a part of who I am. I’m learning that even if two people have similar qualities, they still have a uniqueness about said qualities that distinguishes them from the other. We only have to find it, practice it and spread our unique brand to the people in our lives including the strangers we come across.

I really do believe that.

So I will try. I will always try to find it. I will always try to be the best version of myself. No matter how many people with cutting words and negativity come into my life and try to bring me down, I will always fight and I will always try to find the good in them. Some may say it is naive to believe there is good in everyone. I’d say they’re wrong, because it’s so much easier to remember how someone has wronged you or others and to only see their faults, than to find something worthwhile in them and to believe that they have the power to change.

So this is a promise to myself. To always keep looking and believing.
And I hope I will be as determined to fulfill that promise in the future as much as I am at present.

Leave a Reply

