Just a Little Longer

I smile, but I am hurting inside

The pain washes over me

Like waves at the seashore

It’s like acid being poured

Onto my heart, it stings

I feel the tears coming

Trying to escape my eyes

I use what is left of my willpower

And pull them back into their cages

‘Stay strong, just a little longer’

I say to myself every day

That little longer

Has become years

Yet still I cry

Yet still I hold on

In the hopes that someday

Something comes along

That will make me feel alive again

Leave a Reply

